Press and Journal

Switch to desktop Register Login

Penn State Harrisburg athletes fare well on CAC All-Academic Team

A record 1,384 student-athletes were named to the Capital Athletic Conference 2015-16 All-Academic Team, including 89 from Penn State Harrisburg.

Student-athletes in one or more CAC championship sports that attain a 3.2 grade-point average for the academic year earn a spot on the team.

A total of 44 percent of CAC student-athletes posted a 3.2 GPA (1,384 of 3,120). Penn State Harrisburg  had 89 of 232, or 38.3 percent. York led with 224 of 364, or 61.5 percent.

The 10 members of the CAC in addition to Penn State Harrisburg are Christopher Newport University, Frostburg State University, University of Mary Washington, Marymount University, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Salisbury University, Southern Virginia University, Wesley College and York College of Pennsylvania.

Here are the Penn State Harrisburg athletes who were honored:


Mark Artley, sophomore, Milton, Pennsylvania
Cole Backenstose, freshman, Hummelstown
Russell Boop, freshman, Langhorne, Pennsylvania,  
Nicholas Domenici, freshman, Kunkletown, Pennsylvania,
Brian Goodling, junior, Carlisle
Christopher Iocca, sophomore, North Brunswick, New Jersey,
Ethan Kell, freshman, Middletown
Justin O’Dell, freshman, Milford, Pennsylvania,
Matthew Rosenberg, freshman, Vienna, Virginia
Derek Slagle, senior, York Haven, Pennsylvania

Men’s basketball

Clinton Asalu, freshman, Willingboro, New Jersey
Davis Luethke, freshman, Oakton, Virginia
Anthony Morgan, senior, York
Arick Sodini, senior, Manalapan, New Jersey
Rodeo Thompson, freshman, Hershey

Men’s cross country/
track and field

Ethan Brackbill, sophomore, Lancaster
Matthew Cowan, sophomore, Middletown
Ronald Harper, freshman, Philadelphia
Edgar Makimoto Filho, senior, Sao Paulo/Selinsgrove
Samuel Opeyemi Ajayi, junior
Julian Pittman, freshman, Sicklerville, New Jersey
Matthew Splitt, freshman
Vladhimir Theophile, freshman, Reading

Men’s golf

Collin Hagenbuch, sophomore, Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Matthew Hoare, junior, Mechanicsburg
Tyler Massar, senior, Lebanon
Tyler Shank, junior, Palmyra
Nathaniel Shrawder, sophomore, Sundury, Pennsylvania
Christopher Spittle, senior, Tower City, Pennsylvania

Men’s soccer

James Bilger, senior, Slatington, Pennsylvania
Gregory Daylor, freshman, Hershey
Brandon Hoover, junior, Gap, Pennsylvania
Ethan Hoover, freshman, Gap, Pennsylvania
Aaron Kline, senior, Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Jonathan Majin, junior, Bolton, Nigeria
Victor Medina, senior, Lima, Peru
Alexander Panuccio, junior, Mechanicsburg
Mauricio Pereira Clark, freshman, San Jose, Costa Rica
Dustin Rohrbach, freshman, Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Christian Schmoyer, junior, Allentown
Victor Weaver, sophomore, Gap, Pennsylvania
Ashton Weaver, sophomore, Gap, Pennsylvania

Men’s tennis

Andrew Brady, junior, Hagerstown, Maryland
Tyler Cook, senior, Havre de Grace, Maryland
John Depaul, senior
Rafael Fulton Fernandes, sophomore, Valinhos, Brazil
Thomas Lichtenwalner, sophomore, Allentown
Austin Pokopec, freshman, York
Manley Wong, senior, Lancaster
Yumeng Xie, freshman, Musashino-shi/Tokyo, Japan


Kristen Evans, sophomore, Harrisburg
Jacquelyn Furch, senior, Hallstead, Pennsylvania
Amanda Hartman, junior, Reading
Katelin Herr, sophomore, Kirkwood, Pennsylvania
Rieley Loch, senior, Madison Township, Pennsylvania
Emily Parmer, sophomore, Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Peyton Phillips, freshman, New Columbia, Pennsylvania
Kayla Seyfert, junior, Lebanon

Women’s basketball

Janel Brown, sophomore, Gaithersburg, Maryland
Kaitlyn Carmo, junior, Palmyra
Shanique Mattis, freshman, Philadelphia

Women’s soccer

Courtney Bussino, freshman, Springfield, Vermont
Fatoumata Camara, Riverdale, Maryland
Alyssa Crowley, junior, Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Eliza Grim, sophomore, Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Erica Hile, sophomore, Ickesburg, Pennsylvania
Samantha Kutcher, senior, Lititz
Taylor Miller, freshman, Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Kristin Peckman, senior, Chambersburg
Alexis Quinn, sophomore, Warner Robins, Georgia

Women’s basketball/softball

Jasmine Yanich, senior, Harrisburg

Women’s basketball/volleyball

Kiara Carter, senior, Bronx, N.Y.

Women’s cross country

Rachel Sechrist, junior, Allentown
Jiaoying Lian, sophomore, Xiamen, Fujian

Women’s cross country/
track and field

Ashley Williams, freshman, Easton, Pennsylvania
Janelle Codling, junior, Queens, NewYork
Katlin Gould, junior, Camp Hill
Kyla Line, sophomore, Harrisburg

Women’s soccer/tennis

Fay Ansary, senior, Hershey

Women’s track and field

Logan Akers, junior, Camp Hill
Fallon Joseph, sophomore, Stroudbsurg

Women’s tennis

Shawna Brandt, sophomore, Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Minhwa Lee, freshman, Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Jessica Miller, sophomore, Manheim
Alicia Polcha, freshman

Women’s volleyball

Megan Sheaffer, senior, Palmyra
Samantha Hines, freshman, Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Melissa Orlandini, junior, Harrisburg

Women’s volleyball/
track and field

Rachale Hair, freshman, Newburg

Last Updated on Tuesday, 05 July 2016 16:55

Hits: 682

ESPNW's Expert at PSU Harrisburg

CarolStiffCarol Stiff, vice president of content programming and integration at ESPNW, will lead a discussion on women in sports, followed by a film screening of the documentary “Venus Vs.” on Tuesday, March 22 at 7 p.m. in the Olmsted Building auditorium at Penn State Harrisburg.

The discussion will include the affects of Title IX - a federal law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in any federally funded education program or activity.

Stiff is recognized as one of the most influential people in women’s college sports, particularly in basketball, where ESPN has held exclusivity on the NCAA tournament since 1996. She focuses on integrating the content and stories from the comprehensive multi-platform ESPNW initiative, and elevating its presence across the ESPN network.

Stiff was inducted into the Connecticut Basketball Hall of Fame in April 2005; was named the “Top Advocate for Women’s Basketball” by the Tampa Tribune in 2008; in 2009 Sports Business Journal recognized her as one of the most influential executives leading the way in women’s sports; and she was awarded the 2011 WBCA Mel Greenberg Media Award for her commitment to women’s basketball and advancing the role of media in the game.

Last Updated on Thursday, 17 March 2016 10:55

Hits: 1079