Press and Journal

Switch to desktop Register Login

Steelton-Highspire severs ties with superintendent after long time off work

Ellen Castagneto’s employment with the Steelton-Highspire School Distirct will end June 30 as the school board voted June 16 to cut ties with the former superintendent, who has not worked for the district since October.

“There has been a mutual parting of ways,” said Travis Waters, the acting superintendent since October.

Waters did not have any information about the district’s search for a new superintendent or when it would start.

The school board approved Castagneto’s request for time off under the federal Family Medical Leave Act in October. She did not return to work after that leave expired in January, and school officials said she was on medical leave.

Castagneto taught classes in the fall and spring semester at Penn State Harrisburg, during which time Steelton-Highspire paid her full salary and benefits.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 28 June 2016 15:47

Hits: 151

Middle school announces fourth period honor roll

The following is the honor roll for the fourth marking period for Middletown Area Middle School:

For the full story, CLICK HERE to subscribe to the Press And Journal.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 June 2016 16:16

Hits: 831

MAHS announces final 2016 honor roll

The following students have been named to the honor rolls at the Middletown Area High School for the last marking period of 2016.

For the full story, CLICK HERE to subscribe to the Press And Journal.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 June 2016 16:11

Hits: 817

MASD shuffles administrators

Middletown Area School Board has approved a reshuffling of district administrators that officials say saves money and puts more resources at the school building level.

For the full story, CLICK HERE to subscribe to the Press And Journal.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 June 2016 15:26

Hits: 562

MAHS students awarded $58,000 in scholarships

Students at Middletown Area High School reaped the rewards of their hard work, collecting more than $58,000 in local scholarship awards for their academic work, leadership, musicianship and athleticism at the school’s annual Honors Night on Thursday, May 19 at Middletown Area Middle School.The National Honor Society at MAHS inducted 16 new members during a ceremony held before the awards were presented.

The awards, and the winners, are:

Denise Frisbee Scholarship – Samantha Altland

Run for Joe – PRIDE Scholarship – Megan Shatto

Donald Conrad Memorial Scholarship – Cheyanne Frayre

Middletown Alumni Association 2-to-4-year School Scholarship – Eric Belles, Charity Cooper, Brooke Myers and Brooke Sides

Robert Reid Elementary School PTO Scholarship – Alyssa Ebersole

G.W. Fraser Scholarship – Andrew Yeich

Ruth Coble Scholarship – Charity Cooper and Cassidy Snyder

John C. Kunkel Elementary School PTA Scholarship – Rachel Applegate and Andrew Yeich

Class of ’58 Pathways to Pride Scholarship (science and health pathway) – Angela Shields

Ruth L. Graham Award – Michael Osayi

Middletown Scholar Athlete – Eric Belles and Charity Cooper

Ted Essex Memorial Award – Garrett Deyle

Middletown Three Season Athlete – Megan Danilowicz, Morgan Danilowicz, Charles Euker, Brandon Harper and Michael Osayi

H.K. Alwine Award – Jenna Abbott and Fabiola Hernandez

Lower Swatara Lions Club Sophomore Award – Keely Lombardi and Jacob Spear

Woodmen of the World American History Award – Shannon Reese

Edward E. Brunner Memorial Scholarship – Abigail Gipe

American Legion Americanism Award – Trevor Fuller and Meaghan Nelson

Edward Tennis Memorial Scholarship – Justin Imler

Work Experience Scholarship – Alyssa Ebersole and Mark Wagner

George Lenker Football Award – Jarred Rife

Mel Fager Senior Awards – Makayla Anderson, Morgan Millhouse, Gerardo Ortiz, Ramon Ortiz, Sang Pui and Owen Shank

Ben Olsen Soccer Scholarship – Michael Brinton

Blue & Gold Club Student Award – Kassidy Deibler and Brandon Harper

Bill & Betty Fox Scholarship – Eric Belles

Phoenix Contact Big 33 Award – Alyssa Ebersole and Katelynn Kennedy

Elizabeth G. Alesick Scholarship Award – Lyndsay Truax

Mid Penn Bank Best Attendance Award – Makayla Anderson

Class of 1948 Academic Scholarship – Michael Brinton

William & Wyllis Leonard Scholarship – Samantha Romberger

Karen K. Kasper Performing Arts Scholarship – Nicole Whittle

R. James Kleinfelter Chemistry Award – Levi Buckwalter

Raider Club Honorary Football Scholarship – Michael Osayi, Jarred Rife and Justin Shaver

Ida Prouser Orstein/B’nai Jacob Synagogue Scholarship – Charity Cooper

PIAA District 3/Fackler-Hower Scholarship – Brooke Myers and Michael Osayi
• GRIT Scholarship – Megan Shatto

E.E. Jerry Brooks Award – Eric Belles and Charity Cooper

One for the Kids Scholarships – Jenna Abbott, Fabiola Hernandez, Jarred Rife and Connor Wallett

Hall Foundation Scholarship – Taylor Kolish

Kiwanis Club Scholarship – Garrett Deyle

Middletown Area Education Association Scholarship – Samantha Altland

Anna Woodside Scholarship – Samantha Romberger

Field Hockey Booster Club Scholarship – Abigail Gipe and Megan Shatto

Hugh O’Brian Leadership Recognition – Sarah Fluke

Rotary Service Above Self Scholarship – Rachel Applegate


Last Updated on Wednesday, 01 June 2016 15:26

Hits: 1163